Four Legged Friends

passion2

I’m going to tell you a secret: I haven’t pet my dog, Charlie, in quite a while. I’m talking months. When I moved to Davis to continue my education two years ago, I left Charlie with my family. I figured this was a good decision because my family and I are all Charlie has ever known and she would definitely get more attention with my family. I knew I wouldn’t have time to give Charlie the attention she deserved if I brought her to Davis.

compassion3

I have only visited Bakersfield a couple times in the past two years and so I haven’t spent much time with Charlie or my family. To get past the lonely times (you know, the days when I want to cuddle up with the only being who doesn’t judge me, who listens to my complaints and licks my face when I’m sad), I seek out activities that allow me to interact with animals. I have found that volunteering at veterinary clinics in Davis and the surrounding areas allows me to get my puppy fix.

Recently, I volunteered at Compassion without Borders, which is a mobile clinic that serves underserved communities in the U.S. and Mexico. This is the second time I have volunteered for this organization and I was just as impressed as I was the first time! At the end of the day, we helped many patients and clients and walked away feeling proud of our efforts.

passion1

I took some pictures of the scenery in Martinez, California, where the clinic was held.

martinez1

martinez2

martinez4

Consider helping out at your local shelter-there are always animals needing help.

-Paige

Leave a Reply

