Out Sick

OutSick

This past week has been a rough one. I caught the cold and it knocked me around a bit. I’m happy to report that I finally feel better I guess there’s nothing a bottle of Mucinex and a box of tissues can’t fix!

Here is an update of my weekend:

Volunteer Event

Woo hoo! I finally began volunteering again! I found this really cool organization called Bakersfield Pet Food Pantry, which serves people in Bakersfield who need emergency pet food assistance. Basically, if a Bakersfield resident is having a tough month, they can fill out an application to receive some free pet food.

During this event, I was stationed at the dog treat booth. I opened new bags of dog treats and split their contents into two Ziploc bags so that we could give to more families. I would then take those treat baggies to the front desk to be distributed to the people and pets in need. Once I finished that task, I was sent to the cat food station, where I prepared bags of dry cat food and wet cat food for distribution.

I really liked volunteering with the Bakersfield Pet Food Pantry. They are a group of people who really care and put judgement aside to serve their cause. I hope to volunteer with them again in the future.

Puppy Problems

Bakersfield has been pretty warm these past few weeks and along with warm weather comes litters of unwanted puppies and kittens. That’s exactly what I saw this weekend. My mom and I were out for a stroll and came upon a neighbor who had a litter of puppies. With a bit of hard work and determination, we were able to find one of the puppies a good home. We called her Zinc and she is now living with a dispatcher in a really good side of town with a big backyard and a happy little girl to grow up with.

Baby Shower

I went to a baby shower this weekend and it was adorable! It was a baseball themed shower, including a baseball themed cake! I didn’t win any of the games, but I tried my best. I also went with a few of my coworkers and got to know them a little better outside of work.

Charlie’s Hair Clippers

I got Charlie a new set of hair clippers from PetsMart. My last pair died after a few years of use, so I needed another pretty badly. Charlie’s hair is getting  a little crazy and overgrown. I’ll be posting some before and after pictures of Charlie’s new hair cut shortly.

Well, I hope everyone’s week goes well!

Talk to ya later!

 

-Paige

 

Leave a Reply

