Sonora: My Hungry Caterpillar

Hello All! Nice to talk to you again. I hope all is well and great things have been happening in my absence.

Today I would like to talk about my friend Sonora. She’s doing well, though she is a bit unsocialized as we haven’t gone for a substantial walk in weeks. Instead, I’ve been taking her out to the front yard so she can run off some of her energy, and I’ve been teaching her to jump through a hula hoop, but for the most part, she has been playing with her friends Luna and Charlie inside and eating. I mean, seriously eating. Like… she is always eating.

I pour two bowls of dog food in the morning, but I also keep the dog food bag accessible to the dogs because I can’t stand the thought of them being hungry during the day. I’ve never had problems with dog obesity (Charlie is a slim dog and so is Luna), so I was surprised when one day I heard my family calling Sonora a fatty. I mean, I know she is a little chubby, but I didn’t think that warranted the word “fat” being thrown her way. Besides, Sonora is, like, the most adorable dog in the world! But the issue has become much more apparent and serious. My chubby little girl has quite a belly on her now and when I do the “touch test” on her I can’t feel her ribs. We all know what that means: Sonora is obese!

Sonora1
Look at that belly!

When I first got Sonora I vowed to give her a wonderful life, and I should have made health and physical fitness more of a priority. Unfortunately, I stopped taking her out for walks and I allowed her to eat more than she should have and now my mistakes have led to a potential (and all too real)  health problem. How could I ever forgive myself?! The only thing I can do is become more organized. So let me whip out my handy dandy notebook and Excel spreadsheet and get started!

Sonora4
She’s got so many rolls!

 

So I figure I should do at least 4 thirty minute walks every week and 1 hour long walk every week. Of course I will still be working with her on jumping through a hula hoop as I want to make a mini agility course for my dogs. I figure it would be a fun exercise routine for all of us. See my exercise plan below:

Sonora's Exercise

 

Hopefully with this exercise plan and a new food storage container, I can help Sonora to lose a little bit of weight and gain some endurance and stamina.

I will post an update to report on our progress.

Ta Ta For Now!

 

-Paige

Leave a Reply

