DIY Calendar

calendardiy

So, I’ve been trying to organize my life and I noticed that I always seem to lose track of the days. Either I don’t know the exact date or I don’t know the day of the week. Weird, I know. I thought to myself…what could help me keep track of the dates and days of the week? Hmmm…after a few hours of deep thought, I came up with a calendar! Yes, a calendar!

Now, I am extraordinarily cheap right now (remember those pesky student loans I am trying to pay off). I didn’t want to pay a whole dollar at the dollar store to buy a calendar. So I raided my little sister’s arts & crafts supplies and made my own. I also looked up how to hand letter because I didn’t want my calendar to look too terrible.

Luckily, a lovely woman named Shayda Campbell has a whole series of YouTube tutorials on how to hand letter and illustrate.  A true hidden gem! So, without further ado, here is how to make a calendar.

Supplies Needed:

  • Piece of White Construction Paper (Or whatever color & size your heart desires)
  • A pen (whatever color you so choose)
  • A ruler or something with a straight edge (I used another piece of construction paper)

Step 1: Just draw a grid with 7 columns and 6 rows

I literally just drew a bunch of lines and it worked out great.

Step 2: Label the days of the week on the columns

Here, I watched Shayda Campbell’s tutorial on how to hand letter to make my letters.

Step 3: Label the numbers

Here, I watched Shayda Campbell’s tutorial on how to hand letter to make my numbers.

Step 4: Write the name of the month on the top

Here, I watched Shayda Campbell’s tutorial on how to hand letter to make the word October beautiful.

Step 5: Illustrate like you’ve never illustrated before!!!

Here, I watched Shayda Campbell’s tutorials on how to illustrate to draw a pumpkin, some wheat, flowers, succulents, a night sky, and mushrooms.

Side Notes

I’ve put letters on the bottom of each day of the week because I have started exercising again & each letter represents a different part of my body I am focusing on that day. For example, under Mondays, I put L for legs, Q for quads, G for glutes, and so on.

I also didn’t want my calendar to reflect anything regarding work. I want this calendar to be more of a personal happenings/blogging to-do list calendar.  I haven’t fully filled in the calendar because I literally just made it last night and I was super tired.

Oh and I didn’t include pictures, because…I’m lazy and it seems pretty self-explanatory. To find the hand-lettering tutorial, just look up Shayda Campbell on YouTube and be prepared for the awesomeness!!!!

That’s all folks!

-Paige

 

Leave a Reply

